FCU+MFC Stability issues and difficulty (and tips)

Though I'm very impressed with this mechanic when I started playing the game, I feel there are some area's that might need improvements.
I have spend around 150 - 200 hours on engine tuning on ships and would like to address some issue's I'm running up against a lot of times.
Maybe someone can shed some light on it, or maybe it can be used by the devs to improve this mechanic.

The following issues I have been fighting a lot while having not found a clear solution yet :

#1 Ships are not stable (stay aligned) over the full (forward) thrust range.
I noticed a lot of ship seems to fly straight at first glance, but might not actually fly straight if you give it only a certain amount of thrust (like 20% to 24% forward thrust).
This is of course really annoying, but also really confusing. I don't directly see thrusters hitting the max thrust limit yet so the controllers should just be able to correct with more thrust. What is even more confusing is that in some cases the ship has alignment issue's in BOTH directions (like up and down pitch) at different speeds.
Example : A ship might start nosing UP when @ 20% to 24% thrust, and would start nosing DOWN @ 45% to 55%. While it does fly straight in all other thrust ranges and it even does fly straight when attaching heavy objects on the outside of the ship (though it might change/shift the alignment issue effected thurst range).
I have been battling this problem a lot, and have yet to find a solution and I kinda suspect it is just a problem/bug/limit of the FCU+MFC.

#2 Getting stable ships to hard? (Correction/stable area is to small?)
As this is a game and not reality, I kinda feel the stable area ( the amount of correction the FCU+MFC can to so the ship starts snapping into a straight line) is to small.