Ship editor hotbars and extending beams and plates for rapid ship building

I've been watching ship building videos and seeing very similar patterns between them independent of user experience. What I'm noticing is a lot of time spent with navigating the UI. My background is partly in user experience (UX) so I'll approach it from there, and I'll try to keep this compact. UX in general for our purposes can be broken down into:

1. Mouse movement (distance between clicks or drag operations and total distance to complete a desired action)
2. Mouse clicks
3. Scrolling
4. Typing

Ideally you record someone using the ship editor and then for various actions try to minimize the above such that common actions take as little movement, clicks, and scrolling as possible without making the experience convoluted.

For reference, the ship editor:
shipeditor.png

Currently users start by moving the mouse to the far left tree, clicking to open folders (multiple clicks) and/or scrolling up and down (quite a ways) then clicking parts to pull them into the editor. (They can also search, but this requires typing and its own delays). This whole process takes around 5 to 30 seconds in practice each time because navigating to a part puts the tree in a new state at a possibly different scroll position. (Navigating from one part to another part is not a fixed delay and depends on where they're located in the tree). That said users are learning to duplicate (even navigating around to find a part they already used to duplicate it) rather than navigating the tree, so there are workarounds. I digress, onto solutions:

Hotbars