Economy the current state and how to do it better

TGess

Well-known endo
I would like to provide comprehensive overviews of Starbase economy in its current state, what can be done better, address the inflation we are facing, ship prices in general, NPC markets and Auction House. I would like to point out that I have a master in economics and these are not just ideas pulled out of thin air. If you don't have time to read this skip it to the Static ore prices.

Inflation of prices, money and its problems.

Currently we are facing tremendous inflation in Starbase that is now about 560% compared to day 1 of SB. In comparison inflation in Venezuela was about 500% which is one of the worst managed economies on this planet. This in itself tells a lot about how SB economy is being handled.

A bit of theoretical background. Why is inflation bad. Inflation in itself isn't bad when it's managed. 1-2% yearly inflation is actually ideal in the real word economy. One would say that game has nothing to do with real life economy but he could not be more wrong. All economy models are simplified and they actually are “games” or simulations with just the key aspects being calculated on the very basic level. That is exactly what the game is, a simplified real world where time flies faster as we don't have our whole lives to live inside said game. This part is important and we will work with it when talking about ship prices.

Main reasons why too high of inflation is bad for the game:

UX and GoL are the main reasons. It is very hard to count in millions or even billions, the amount of numbers is overwhelming, everything feels highly overpriced and from real life we are used to counting stuff in ten of thousands at max. Euro or Dollars are the two main currencies which people use and they are used for stuff costing 10, 100, 1k, 10k dollars but noone is ready to count in billions.

Other reasons: